Vegan mineral makeup debut!

Welcome to mineral_love!

Click on the About tab for more information on mineral_love vegan cosmetics and ME (Tricia).

Background Story:

   For the past couple years I have been selling a popular brand of mineral makeup. My customers come to me for advice and to address their concerns. A few of my customers have extremely sensitive skin, and after some research I found bismuth oxychloride, a common ingredient in mineral makeup, was the culprit to their itchiness and redness. So I thought to myself, “What other ingredients are lurking in our makeup?” I took a look at the labels… bismuth oxychloride, ferric ferrocyanide (ack! sounds scary!), and in some cases, a slew of chemicals that even the most advanced chemistry student would have trouble pronouncing. I wanted to dig deeper.

   Mica is listed as the first ingredient in most mineral makeup. Sadly, not all of the ingredients that are used to make certain types of mica are listed by big companies. I found that ferric ferrocyanide is in a majority of blue colored micas, and carmine (which consists of ground up insects) is found in many pink and red micas. I about lost it there. I’m putting insects on my face?! Why didn’t anyone tell me?!?

   I realized that the only way I’m going to get what I want is by making it myself. So far I’ve made 18 beautifully pigmented eye colors- all free of bismuth oxychloride, carmine, ferric ferrocyanide, and any “fillers” that companies use to cut down their costs. I have many more colors in the works, as well as plans for vegan concealer, foundation, lip balm, primer, and more!

   If you are interested in trying my natural vegan mineral makeup, you can find samples on ebay (seller name- mineral_love). Larger sizes with sifters will be available shortly.

Please add me to your favorites! I can’t wait to share more with you! Stay tuned for pictures and more information about veganism, makeup, and mineral_love 🙂

January 8, 2009. Tags: , , . Beauty.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

